Some scuttle I learned at the DC United meet the coach night

I crammed myself into a downtown bar last night to attend DC United’s meet the coach night which featured man-of-the-hour Curt Onalfo. Easily over 100 fans packed an undersized bar to get a mere glimpse, beer or handshake with Onalfo, owner Will Chang, GM Kevin Payne, new assistant coach Ben Olsen and forward Jaime Moreno. Here are a couple of nuggets I picked up last night:

  • This may peeve KC fans but when asked what he thought of Kansas City, Onalfo shrugged and said, “Eh, it’s Kansas. It was a good first job.” He seems very happy to be out of KC and back where he and his family consider to be home.
  • I spoke to DCU owner Will Chang who said that they hope to have a final “real” announcement of a new stadium sometime during the 2010 calendar year. As I have said 1 million times, I’ll believe it when I see it. That said, I asked how long he’s willing to stick it out without a stadium and he indicated that the team is not going anywhere. He also added, “Montreal is too cold for me.”
  • I also asked Chang about the CBA negotiations and how fans are starting to get quite worried. He said in no uncertain terms to not worry and that the season would start on time.
  • I also spoke to someone with links to a United player who told me that the Union has informed players to save their money and to not expect the season to start on time.

The mood and turnout amongst supporters was surprisingly high. People (and I) liked the Castillo signing but boy, people are very skeptical (and that’s being charitable) about the renewing of Fred’s option. My guess, is that they’re going to give him a shot at playing in a no. 10 role in place of Gomez, the position he played in Melbourne. We shall see.

13 thoughts on “Some scuttle I learned at the DC United meet the coach night

  1. Ed and I talked to Ray Hudson about this and while you can argue that Ray doesn’t know about much, he does know about soccer in Florida and he was extremely, extremely down on the near to medium term prospects of an MLS team in Florida.

  2. I sincerely can’t tell if this is a sarcastic question reminding me why I am not on the level of Loney or Archer or someone actually asking why I am not on that level because my stuff is good.

    Depending on which you meant, my response is either:

    a) Screw you!
    b) Thank you for the kind words and please let others know about the site.

  3. I’m not a KC fan, and I’m not peeved, but it does make me want to see DC United crater badly under his stewardship, just to feel the warm glow of the schadenfreude from the Heartland.

    Seriously, he got another gig after bungling the KC job and getting canned. He should drop to his knees and thank whatever deity he worships for his good fortune. This reminds me of the Rongen hire, except Onalfo won’t have a championship caliber team to go from muscle memory for a year.

  4. It would really suck if MLS players strike, move to the NASL, and the A-League players move to MLS.

    Or am I drinking too much Nick Webster/Eric Wynalda Kool-Ade?

  5. “Bungling the KC Job?” They made the playoffs two years in a row with absolute garbage on the pitch, and were mere points away from the same achievement this year. Seriously, they only have a handful of good players, and one of them is Kevin Hartman. If he can keep DCU organized, we should be able to be very successful with the talent we have.

    RE: Chang’s resiliency:

    That’s great news! I’m glad he’s willing to stick it out. If don’t get a stadium soon, at least we know we can wait out the Fenty Administration’s eventual election loss, and maybe the new Mayor will be more cooperative (also, maybe we’ll be out of the recession or at least on our way out). Maybe we won’t have a stadium in 5 years, but it sounds like someday we WILL definitely get one.

  6. Might be quicker if DCU supporters build it by hand with volunteer labor, on a vacant lot, with donated concrete and steel.

  7. it does make me want to see DC United crater badly under his stewardship, just to feel the warm glow of the schadenfreude from the ccvp Heartland. Seriously, he got another gig after bungling the KC job and getting canned. He should drop to his knees and thank whatever testking cisco deity he worships for his good fortune. This reminds me of the Rongen hire, except Onalfo won’t have a championship caliber team to go from testking comptia muscle memory for a year.

Leave a Reply

