United signs two African players on short-term deals

Steve had the scoop.

As we suspected yesterday, D.C. United is looking to Africa to bolster its roster.

Club officials are confirming this report from Africa that they are about to acquire Sierra Leone defender Ibrahim Koroma as a developmental player. Koroma, 18, started for his country in Saturday’s World Cup qualifier against Equatorial Guinea. He goes by the nickname “Marcel.” I am told he chose “Marcel” because he is a big fan of Desailly. His current club is Kallon FC (Freetown).

Koroma joins South African forward Thabiso “Boyzzz” Khumalo, a USL2 player who will also be introduced in the coming days.

I have to admit that I know nothing about either guy. Khumalo says he might even play as soon as this weekend.

“Everything is going well for me. I have signed with the team for three months,” says an elated Khumalo, adding that he is confident of playing this weekend when the Tom Soehn-coached side takes on FC Dallas on Saturday.

“I did talk to the General Manager (Dave Kasper) and he assured me that my work permit should be here this Friday. Hopefully, I will play at the weekend,” he says.

I’d agree with him. With our much-discussed depth problems, getting a player or two that can contribute even a small bit certainly is a good thing.

One thought on “United signs two African players on short-term deals

Leave a Reply

