I am getting ready for Arsenal

French midfielder Samir Nasri, Arsenals big offseason signing.

French midfielder Samir Nasri, Arsenal's big offseason signing.

You might have noticed how quiet I’ve been recently about Arsenal, my “other” team beyond DC United. Don’t be confused, I follow Arsenal obsessively, reacting with horror at every top player we decline to sign and praying that Arsene Wenger is right that a teenage Jack Wilshire can support Mathieu Flamini in the center of midfield.

Anyway, the reason I have been quiet is that I am absolutely certain that this is the year the Wenger’s arrogance and refusal to acquire depth will finally doom Arsenal to crash out of the top 4 – not forever, just for this season. Maybe I was wrong, but I thought we were finally done with Senderos after last year, evidently not.

Even more worrying is the prospect of Tottenham replacing Arsenal in the top 4. I think Spurs have done extraordinarily well during the offseason, and if they manage to get Andrei Arshavin they’ll have done that much better.

Ed and I will have more on the EPL season as it approaches. I am not going to do a full preview, because frankly what can my preview add that 30 other more-knowledable publications can’t? So I will be focusing Arsenal, Ed will presumably focus on Manchester United, and at least we’ll find common ground goofing on Lifton’s Liverpool.

PS: Our new home shirts, as seen above, suck. We have a simple shirt, red body w/white sleeves. Why does Nike insist on screwing around with it. The away shirt, on the other hand, is quite nice.

Leave a Reply

