Italian Super Cup coming back to USA? Is the Community Shield coming as well?

I was listening to Radio 5 this morning and Gabrielle Marcotti, of SI.com, Times (UK) and BBC Radio fame, said that the Italian Super Cup would return to Giants Stadium this summer. The Super Cup (like the Italian Community Shield) has been at Giants Stadium once before and was at RFK in 1993.

Is this true? I haven’t heard this anywhere else and it’s not listed on Giants Stadium’s calendar.

Meanwhile, Sunil Gulati has told folks in London that he is interested in holding the Community Shield in the USA. I love the idea, but I think the clubs will balk as long as the match isn’t moved further away from opening day. Even I don’t think one week is fair recoup time for two clubs to schlep back from the USA. Maybe the two Community Shield-competing clubs could begin their season the following Wednesday. Anyway, I hope it happens. As an Arsenal fan, it would likely be the only way I’d ever get to see my team Stateside, at least as long as Wenger is manager.

One thought on “Italian Super Cup coming back to USA? Is the Community Shield coming as well?

Leave a Reply

